4.1★ Sykes rating 4 Guests 3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Ground floor accommodation Garden / Patio Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Seaside Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews garden (19) cottage (19) beach (18) one (14) lovely (13) good (12) 40 Customer Reviews "Dear Sir/Madam We are emailing you to register a complaint in relation to our recent stay at Sea Pearl in Pakefield (25 August-1 September)." When we arrived on the evening of 25 September, it was immediately clear that the house had not been cleaned and that the property had not been made ready for our arrival. The bed linen from the previous guests was still in heaps on the bedroom floor (and the beds bare of any linen), the bins were still full (and the kitchen ones smelling), the bathrooms had no towels and were dirty, and it was clear that no one had visited the house since the previous guests had departed. After contacting the emergency contact number, a representative from the housekeeping company arrived at around 11.30pm, and made up the double bed for us, and provided us with towels, the makings of a welcome pack (and an additional bottle of wine). Unfortunately, they brought the wrong size duvet cover, so they folded the kingsize duvet up a little, to fit it into the double duvet cover they had. They were very apologetic about the state of the house, and indicated they would call us back around 10am the following day, to let us know what time a full clean could take place. We didn't hear from the housekeeping company as expected, but after chasing them we finally got a text from them around 11.45am on the Saturday, letting us know that a full clean would be carried out between 2-4pm that afternoon. This all dictated our plans for the day; knowing the property hadn't been cleaned we avoided using the shower or bath, and also didn't feel able to unpack. We also had to leave the property on the Saturday afternoon, to allow the cleaners to do their work, not ideal when we'd travelled for 12 hours to get there on the Friday. After the clean had supposedly been completed we returned to find the main bin and recycling bin had not been emptied, and were still smelling strongly. The bins in two of the bedrooms were also still full of used tissues. We emptied all of these bins ourselves. In addition, none of the other beds had been made up (there are 3 other beds in the house). We had said that wasn't necessary on the Friday night (it was close to midnight by that point), but had expected they would be made up on the Saturday. As you can imagine, when we returned on late Saturday afternoon we were very unhappy about all of this, but anxious not to have another night disrupted because of the lack of housekeeping we decided to empty the bins ourselves, and try to ignore that the two other bedrooms hadn't been made up. We just couldn't face yet more of our holiday being taken up with housekeeping admin and disruption. There's no doubt that having 2 days of disruption really wasn't a good start to our much needed holiday, or that it continued to have a negative impact on how we felt about the property across the week. In fact, we ended up leaving 2 days early, having never quite managed to feel at ease in it. I'm sure you'll agree that this level of service falls considerably short of what any paying customer should expect from Sykes and any property it rents (although we've since noted that the property has received several negative reviews in terms of its cleanliness). Our experience means that we are extremely unlikely to ever rent another property through Sykes. As such, we would very much appreciate some financial compensation in response to the disruption we experienced and the impact this had across the whole of our holiday. I look forward to hearing from you, and to achieving a positive resolution to this matter. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay, especially after a long journey. This was initally an oversight which has never happened before and I know the cleaning company were very apologetic and gave you chocolates and wine as an apology but I appreciate you were inconvenienced by the initial issue then a cleaning team resource complication. I do not expect this to happen again as I have taken steps to ensure that all reservations communications are noted in good time including by the cleaning company. Again, my apologies and if I had known you were planning to leave early I would have done everything possible to ensure you were comfortable and that the reminder of your stay would be exceptional. Property Owner Reviewed by Matthew2.5★Aug 2023 "Great cottage very close to the beach, shops, pubs and takeaways." The cottage was clean and tidy with many interesting, quirky features. Loved the natural , wild garden to sit in as the weather was good. The stairs are steep but as they are wide with a handrail they didn’t bother us. Great to have a bathroom upstairs and downstairs. Would definitely come again. (One thing to note, there is no welcome pack so you will need to bring/buy milk, soap etc and if you want to use the washing machine bring a couple of washing capsules.) Thank you for your feedback and also for the top cleanliness score, thank you for acknowledging that and I do hope that you can visit again. The stairs are indeed original and so are in keeping with the character of the property but I will certainly look at including a picture of the stairs on the next scheduled photo update. Property Owner Reviewed by Geoff5.0★Jun 2023 "Sea pearl Bed's need replacing, carpets need cleaning,TV needs moving out of the ..." Sea pearl Bed's need replacing, carpets need cleaning,TV needs moving out of the corner, wooden bench/settee needs to go, toilet's and shower mat were dirty so we cleaned them, uneven and crumbling pathways definitely a trip hazard for older people and children Thank you for your comments, the mattresses are replaced in regular rotation but I appreciate that beds and mattresses can be subjective and personal preference. I will check all the beds. There is a selection of living room seating - 2 sofas as well as arm (accent) chairs to suit different tastes (see photos) Similarly, the pathways can be seen in the photos. Cleaning is so important. Fortunately, its a good local firm that provides reliable service and I would of course arrange any help or remedial action needed if I am aware at the time and the path will of course also be checked although I do try to make it as clear as possible on the pictures regarding the layout of the external area. Property Owner Reviewed by Michael2.2★Jun 2023 "Cottage not as clean as I would expect." I'm so sorry if there was any oversight on this occasion and I have instructed the cleaners to ensure that the cottage is truly spotless for the next visitors. Property Owner Reviewed by Sarah3.1★May 2023 "After reading reviews I was slightly worried about doggy smell but walking into property it was a relief, no smell what so ever." The property is really spacious and very homely. Looked like brand new bathrooms up and downstairs. The only criticism I have is there are quite a few photos dotted around, so needs making less personal and one sofa, more like a wooden bench was neither use nor ornament as like sitting on garden bench so we didn't use that. Dont be worrying over what kitchen utensils to take as it has litterly everything, it even had needles and thread. The property has a small very well maintained sercure secure garden that's full of cottage flowers that looks very pretty and a lockable gate leading out to the beach just a few yards away. We did have a very disappointing start to our week away tho, we was instructed where to find key but was unable to locate it, so after ringing 2 numbers provided on email , no one answered the phone, after an hour of waiting around, luckly Sykes sorted it and a lady rang me and told me a key safe had been installed. Overall we had a lovely stay at sea pearl and would highly recommend. I'm sorry about the key issue and that communications hadn't got to you about the key safe being installed. I do have two sofas of differing styles to accommodate as many personal preferences as possible. I appreciate decor is personal taste and other guests have enjoyed the decor but I do appreciate if it didn't suit you personally. I'm glad that you had everything you needed in the kitchen and that you enjoyed the garden. Thank you also for the excellent top cleanliness score, much appreciated. Property Owner Reviewed by P4.4★May 2023 "We never complain about rentals but this one was just not up to the standard we expect from past experiences with Sykes." The carpets are so old that it just didn’t feel clean.A strong air freshener was beening used in living room resulting in a reaction from my wife (Allergic effect presumably). We placed it in the garden but the effect remained so we avoided being in the cottage as much as possible. Rubbish was left in the internal recycling bin and there was no where to dispose of waste and recycling before we left. Toilet upstairs was not clean. And Bath had a tide mark. We re cleaned some parts. On the plus side, the house was warm . I am really sorry to hear this. I asked my cleaners to inspect. They did not find the problems you mentioned, though they agreed that the living room carpet near the kitchen had some marks. I have since been able to take a look for myself and see that a recent visitor must have been carrying food and drinks without using any of the trays provided. There were spills. The carpet (which is god quality and only 2 years old) cleaned up easily and now looks as good as new. As for the recycling bins, the company that collects no longer returns the bins to homes. We have to go and look for them at the nearest spots. Not sure there is anything can do about that really. Property Owner Reviewed by Robert & Gail2.8★Oct 2022 "Had an enjoyable stay." Cottage was better than expected. Garden was really dog friendly and escape proof. Beautiful walks right on the doorstep with the dog. Beach and pub so close. Overall comfort good. Smallest criticism, stairs very steep, therefore could do with a handrail on the wall side. In fact we had such a lovely holiday we are going to see if we can book it again next year. Reviewed by Andrea4.4★Sep 2022 "Lovely house." Situated close to all amenities. Stairs to 1st floor quite steep and very narrow. Reviewed by Graham3.8★Sep 2022 "Needs another settee instead of the wooden one to add a bit more comfort." Outside space could do with tidying up especially outside the patio doors as very uneven and a trip hazard. Overall it suits us but will probably not suit everyone. Thank you for your comments and I will check the area outside the patio doors. I do provide two sofas of different styles as I appreciate sofa comfort is subjective according to individual tastes and so I try to accommodate for as may types of personal preference as possible. Property Owner Reviewed by Anthony3.1★Sep 2022 "As previous comments outside furniture could do with updating and perhaps a little more comfortable." The dining table we thought a bit unstable until we worked out it hadn’t’ been put up properly. One minor point the double bedroom does not have a mirror. Otherwise a perfect place to explore the area and come back to relax in. The cushions for the outdoor furniture are kept in the cupboard near the back door, the table has a gate leg which just needs to be kept in place, so I am happy to reassure guests that the table is stable and solid. Property Owner Reviewed by Sheila3.8★Aug 2022 "The wonderful thing about this cottage is its location - situated in a quiet residential road only a 2 minute walk from the sea." We used it as a base for lots of walks and runs along the local seafront as well as visiting Southwold, Aldeburgh and the Norfolk Broads. We also went to Sutton Hoo which is an amazing place to visit. One recommendation for the cottage - comfortable garden chairs would make sitting outside much more appealing. Reviewed by Elizabeth4.1★Jul 2022 "For the most part the property is alright for us apart from the garden area for sitting out and dining is not good enough the concrete area and flags are uneven." Although this does not effect us that much for a family it isn’t good enough. The inside is fine now with a new cooker but the seating is again not good enough for a family not ideal to watch the television we move the settees round so we are comfortable to watch the television. This all might sound negative but it doesn’t affect us as a couple that much and we like staying there and would book again as it’s a lovely spot. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return, thank you for letting me know to check the flags. Property Owner Reviewed by Anthony3.1★Jun 2022 "Third time we stayed here." Excellent location and all facilities good. Pub and beach just round the corner! Reviewed by Michael5.0★Jun 2022 "The location was great, one minute walk to the beach." Our dog loved exploring the garden. The house was spotless. Parking was no problem right outside. One settee is wooden and not very comfortable. We rang and asked for a key for the French doors, which was missing and never got one ! The upstairs toilet has a really noisy motor, too noisy to use at night. Despite these things we had a great time I'm happy to confirm that the key to the French doors was found. Property Owner Reviewed by Liz4.7★May 2022 "Lovely cosy cottage." Then downstairs living area could do with updating as very outdated and the sofas so uncomfortable and the tv was totally in the wrong place to be able to sit and watch it. Everything else we loved about it. Reviewed by Zoe4.7★Nov 2021 "Cottage ok ." Stairs a bit steep .Garden furniture not fit to sit on , needs replacing .Upstairs toilet very noisy ! Garden furniture refreshed! Property Owner Reviewed by Sheila4.7★Sep 2021 "The only thing we would change is the wooden sofa as there was only 2 of us the ..." The only thing we would change is the wooden sofa as there was only 2 of us the one chair and 2 seater sofa was adequate but should a larger group stay it would be uncomfortable Reviewed by Anthony5.0★Sep 2021 "Yes. Garden furniture awful." Reluctant to sit on it as it was rusty. Both table and the chairs were not fit for purpose. Could not sit outside as a family. Garden itself was overgrown with a dangerous wall that looked like it would collapse at any moment. A little Pond partially covered by a metal gate. If you have young children then be very careful. Inside…bathrooms (both) absolutely no storage at all. Only place to put stuff was on the windowsill. All shower stuff had to be put on the floor of the shower. Not a cupboard or draw anywhere. Toilets seats! Did not fit the toilet. Painful to sit on for any length of time! One of the sofas in lounge very uncomfortable. Like sitting on a plank. Lots of spiders and cobwebs, especially down the side of the sofas when searching for the lesser spotted plug socket! Seems very dark in lounge due to terracotta coloured walls (personal choice). Rugs and mats all over the place. We counted 9 from the front door to the back door! Complete pain to keep clean. This brings me on to the hoover. good lord, poor Hetty! Absolute rubbish. Could not push it on the mats or carpet. Had to opt for the place and pull back method! And it absolutely stank. Within 2 minutes of it being on, the whole place smelt like wet dog! There seemed to be a lot of personal effects around, shoes under the stairs, clothes and belongings in single bed storage. In double room, the bed was 2 singles put together. Not itself an issue but it only had a double quilt on it and did not reach over the whole bed so one person always had hardly any quilt. We have stayed in a number of properties in Pakefield before and the standard has been very high. This review may sound a bit harsh but it really did not compare with other places we have stayed and unfortunately did not meet our expectations. Reviewed by Susan3.1★Aug 2021 "The Sea Pearl is a very comfortable and well equipped home." There was a couple of minor issues but nothing that spoiled the holiday. The location couldn’t be better for the amenities and the beach. Would recommended the Sea Pearl for a holiday. Reviewed by Stella4.7★Jun 2021 "Second stay for us and we'll be booking for 2022 soon." Excellent location - perfect for us. Pakefield a lovely location Reviewed by Michael5.0★Jun 2021 "A nice cottage in a great location, could do with a bigger duvet on the main bed but generally all clean and comfortable." DVD player doesn’t work but the tv has Netflix which was an unexpected bonus. Couldnt get the central heating to work but wasn’t a major issue, just a bit chilly in the mornings. Only problem was the contact name in the on-site book was 2 years out of date so couldn’t speak to anyone to sort out the problem. Reviewed by Mary4.4★May 2021 "Lovely cottage very warm and cosy ." Great access to the dog friendly beach. With a nice 20 mins walk into Lowestoft. Close to 3 pubs although due to restrictions and the very changeable weather we didn’t try them! The only down side of the cottage which didn’t affect us was the steep staircase and the set out of the garden also the garden furniture bieng in bad repair . Despite the bad weather we had a great stay in this cottage and would recommend Reviewed by Kay4.4★Apr 2021 "The area is very nice." We found the local people very friendly and happy to give us local information. The house was really close to the beach, and the pub Oddfellows virtually next door with a great beer garden, where we attended the blessing of the herrings! The Jolly Sailors, a short walk up the road, is very good, and we had a couple of great meals there. We were disappointed to find on arrival at the house that the lounge carpet had been washed and it didn’t dry out completely for three days. It would have been nice to have been forewarned about this, but there was no note when we arrived. There was a very musty smell around afterwards. As it is a house that allows pets, this could have been the reason why the carpet was cleaned, even so, a friendly warning would have been well received. The underside of the gas fire could do with a clean, but it was a very welcome addition to an evening after a damp day out. Both bathrooms were very modern and clean. There had been confusion over the recycling but we took it upon ourselves to empty the recycling bin of household and general waste, previous occupants had not disposed of correctly? Having said all this, we intend to return, as we love the area. Reviewed by Elizabeth4.1★Oct 2020 "The garden was very very untidy and lacked space due to brickwork falling apart." The cottage was comfortable albeit tired. The upstairs loo being a macerator was very noisy. Would recommend if looking for a quiet relaxing cottage very near the beach. Reviewed by Barry3.8★Oct 2020 "Sea Pearl is a very nice terraced cottage, very clean and comfortable." Close to a lovely beach. A very quiet area. Reviewed by Amanda4.4★Sep 2020 "Excellent location near to beach and pub as well as shops and public transport." Dog friendly beach helps too. Reviewed by Michael5.0★Aug 2020 "Well equipped quiet, comfortable, clean and warm cottage, 2 min walk to beach 20 min walk along beach to Lowestoft with cafe on the way, 1 min walk to friendly pub but you will probably need to book if you want to eat." Dog proof garden but not very suitable for sitting and relaxing in a bit cramped. Very friendly locals. lots of facilities on the doorstep. Reviewed by Clare4.7★Sep 2019 "A lovely little house, well-equipped and in a great location." Lots to explore in the area. Reviewed by Jean5.0★Sep 2019 "Very comfortable cottage and location (sea 2mins away)." Good holiday and would go back again and recommend it. Dogs were happy too Reviewed by D4.7★Sep 2019 "It's a lovely cottage - very comfortable, the bathrooms and showers were amazing!" It was a beautiful area and perfect for the restful week we needed - swimming, tennis and seaside walks all on hand. Thank you. Reviewed by Anna5.0★Jul 2019 "We loved Sea Pearl." The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could need. The location was perfect 60 second walk to a lovely little pub that served absolutely delicious food in the bar and restaurant. We also tried 2 other pubs within walking distance that were lovely. The beach was equally near and a great place to enjoy walks with our dog, The garden was the only thing that could do with changing as it’s quite overgrown and doesn’t temp you to sit out in it with a glass of wine. Overall I would love to go back to Sea Pearl it’s now one of our favourite places to stay. Reviewed by Sharon4.7★Jun 2019 "House good, garden like a jungle not really pet or children friendly" Reviewed by Sue3.4★May 2019 "Overall, a very good, spacious property with a pleasant ambience but very pricey." Reviewed by Penny3.8★Oct 2018 "What a difference a year makes!" We stayed in October 2017, our second visit, and the general maintenance, especially of plumbing and electrics, left much to be desired. Since then both bathrooms have been renovated as well as the kitchen, along with other improvements and the housekeeping is now of a high standard. Now a great place to stay. Reviewed by A5.0★Sep 2018 "Cottage set in quiet area and well equipped, road parking for one car without any issues, as previously mentioned cottage was clean but there is a doggy smell which is noticeable every time you enter the living area, ( I am a dog lover but maybe a washable floor covering would be more suitable for rental than carpets) very close to beach and several pubs serving good food and local supermarkets." A pleasant flat walk into Lowerstoft along seafront of around 25 minutes, local buses pass within a 5 minute walk of cottage. Property condition is generally good with both bathrooms being shiny and new, however a bit of tlc and rejig to the bedrooms would make a big difference and the garden is quite overgrown in comparison to photos which made it not quite the oasis was looking forward to a bbq in. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend for relaxing break at the right price. Reviewed by Karen3.8★Aug 2018 "We could see and hear the sea from one of the bedrooms which added to the holiday atmosphere." The Indian flavour of the garden layout was attractive to us as were the few touches inside the house. The road which ended next to allotments before the sea was remarkably quiet and the Play Area was nicely close to the house and next to the beach. We found the accommodation to be comfortably spacious and tastefully appointed. Shops were a short walk along the road and parking was no problem. Recommended! Reviewed by David4.7★Jul 2018 "This is a comfortable, welcoming, spacious and well kept house." It’s location is superb, being a very short and and easy walk to the beach, even closer to a playground for the kids and even closer to a friendly pub with good food. The neighbours that we met were also lovely. The house is very peaceful. We had a really lovely week there and definitely plan to go back. Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0★Jul 2018 "It is in a great location - we loved being so close to the sea." It is quiet with a garden full of birdsong. It is within easy, flat walking distance of 3 pubs and 2 supermarkets, yet retains a quirky village feel. Things to improve: We would have liked bigger towels! The information on our letter regarding key collection was not accurate. Overall, excellent value for money. We would stay there again. Reviewed by Jan4.4★May 2018 "My wife and I have stayed at this cottage on a number of occasions over the years." There has been a marked deterioration in the standard of cleanliness and the quality of the fittings. Only one of the five bedside lightsl worked and there seemed to be an absence of PAT testing of electrical appliances. The gate at the entrance to the property was hanging off with a broken hinge. The doorknob to the sitting/dining room was also faulty. The tap unit over the sink in the kitchen was not fixed and makes washing up very difficult. The downstairs toilet/bathroom carpet is soiled and the shower holder is broken. I have mentioned on previous visits that the steepness of the stairs really requires a second bannister as carrying cases upstairs is quite hazardous. The upstairs shower cubicle was dirty with evidence of mould We had difficulty using the shower. The toilet was stained and lacked a lid. .A general air of neglect pervades the property. There was no mattress protector or undersheet on the double bed and only three of the four pillows had protectors on. The garden table is broken.We could not find a visitors book. Most self catering properties are welcoming. Their was nothing to welcome us to this property. To end on a more positive note. The beach is near as is the coast path. Reviewed by John2.1★Nov 2017 "Everything about it was brilliant , the cottage, the lovely beach, and the fact I could take my dogs with me , Thank you for a memorable week ." Reviewed by Gary5.0★Sep 2017 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC Kitchen with electric oven, gas hob, microwave, family size fridge/freezer, washing machine Sitting room with dining area and gas fire. Gas central heating with gas fire TV with Freeview, DVD, fast stable WiFi Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Roadside parking on first come, first served basis Enclosed paved rear garden with covered pond and furniture One small, well-behaved dog welcome The beach which is a very short walk away is dog friendly and horse riding is available on the beach There is also a long esplanadae for cycling and a cliff top barista coffee shop Watersports available in area Hikers/walking groups/cycling and watersports guests all welcome Sorry, no smoking Shop and pub 4 mins walk, the pub also does meals Beach 2 mins walk Note: Covered pond in garden, children to be supervised Please note the property has the original stairs in keeping with the character of the property and while they can be steep, they are wide and do have a handrail The property This charming, mid-terrace cottage is located on a quiet residential street in Pakefield, just a two-minute walk from the beach. Within walking distance of a good pub, with Lowestoft's local amenities within easy reach, it is an ideal holiday home for friends and families exploring the beautiful Suffolk coastline. From a pretty gated garden, the front door opens into an entrance hall with lots of space to hang coats and bags and store shoes. The sitting room is spacious with a large dining table, comfy seating beside patio doors looking out into the garden, plus a gas fire set in an ornate Victorian fireplace. The well-equipped kitchen has a washing machine so you don't need to worry about packing enough clothes, and from the kitchen is a door into the garden. Also on the ground floor is a modern, ground floor shower room, ideal for when you come back in from the beach. Upstairs are three bright bedrooms, one with a single bed, a second with twin beds overlooking the front of the property, and a third double. As well as three lovely bedrooms, there is also a further family bathroom upstairs to complete the accommodation. In the pretty, sunken garden you can sit out and enjoy the summer sunshine with lunch or a glass of wine in the evening. From the gate at the bottom of the garden, you can easily reach the beach in a couple of minutes and take a stroll by the sea. The town of Lowestoft has a good selection of pubs, bars and shops, as well as lots of traditional seaside attractions. A short distance away you can explore Africa Alive, visit the beautiful Somerleyton Hall or get your adrenaline high at the Pleasurewood Hills Theme Park! The town is in a perfect location for exploring both South Norfolk and North Suffolk, a delightful holiday home for all! View on map About the location PAKEFIELD Lowestoft 1 mile; Beccles 8 miles; Southwold 10 miles. Located on the Suffolk coast, Pakefield is a suburb of Lowestoft, however it was historically a village in its own right and is home to the parish church of All Saints and St Margarets. Pakefield has a selection of shops, bars and restaurants as well as a real fish and chip shop, and is home to The Seagull Theatre, as well as an art gallery. Nearby Lowestoft is a traditional seaside resort with a wide range of amenities including the Pleasurewood Hills Theme Park, whilst south of Pakefield is the coastal town of Southwold, famous for its pier, busy harbour and the colourful beach huts which line the seafront. Pakefield is a good touring base for all of East Anglia including the Norfolk Broads and the cathedral city of Norwich. Note: Covered pond in garden, children to be supervised. Please note the property has the original stairs in keeping with the character of the property and while they can be steep, they are wide and do have a handrail.