Cartmel Priory
Cartmel Priory

Cartmel Priory

Cartmel Priory was built in 1250 but damaged in 1322 by Robert the Bruce. In 1330 to 1350, the Town Choir was extended, and the Harrington Tomb was set in place.

In 1400 to 1440, buildings were moved from the south side to the north side by the mid 1400s, the second stage bell tower and the three-bay nave were added along with the great east window and misericords.

In the 17th century, the chancel was reroofed, and carved oak screens and canopies added followed by a new vestry later in the century.

During the 19th century, Cartmel Priory was extensively restored, and a new organ added. Further improvements, such as the first electric lights were added in the 20th century.

Today, visitors are welcome to view all of the fascinating features added over the years and marvel at the architecture and artistry. You’re also welcome to attend any of their services, 1,000 of which take place every year.

Uncover a wealth of history at Cartmel Priory…

Image Credits: Transport PixelsCC BY-SA 2.0

activityarrow_downarrow_leftsmall-rightarrow-top-rightbikeguidescamerachild-friendlycircularclockCottagecrossdangerdestinationpindownloaddropdown-arrowemailFamilyfinish-flagflagfloraflowergroupHeartinfo-altdidyouknowInspirationlinearlocationmap-pinmapparkingpawphonerulersearchshare Facebook Google Plus Instagram LinkedIn Pinterest Twitter YouTube ui-24px-glyph-2_grid-45popularsun-cloudtexturef-check-glyph-16toggleVideoWalkingwheelchair