Coniston Copper Mines
The Copper Mines in Coniston came to be in 1590, when the Company of Mines Royal came to Coniston. They delved into the area’s copper veins, where they broke the rock face and dug out tunnels.
In the late 17th century, gunpowder was introduced and made work faster for the miners. You can still see some of the holes!
The Coniston Copper Mines eventually became one of the first largest mines to be dug out. However, over time the mines slowed their progression, until coming to a stop in 1914.
The mines became derelict until 2016, when the Coniston Copper project received £455,000 from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The project’s work centred around conservation, and repairing over 150 items.
Thanks to the work of the project, visitors can come and see the remains firsthand. The surrounding landscape is not to be missed either, with the fells providing a gorgeous, contrasting backdrop to the industrial site!
Experience Coniston’s fascinating history at the Coniston Copper Mines…
Image Credits: Mainlymazza – CC BY-SA 3.0